NBA 2023-24 Schedule Breakdown: Predicting the Record and Playoff Chances of Every Team

The NBA 2023-24 season is just around the corner, and fans are eager to see how their favorite teams will fare in the upcoming campaign. The league has released the complete game schedule and broadcast schedules for all 30 teams, which means we can start making some predictions based on the strength of schedule, offseason moves, injuries, and other factors.

Let’s start with the Eastern Conference, where the defending champions Miami Heat will face some stiff competition from the likes of the Boston Celtics, the Philadelphia 76ers, the Brooklyn Nets, and the Milwaukee Bucks.

Eastern Conference

Miami Heat (53-29)

Bam Adebayo and Jimmy ButlerIssac Baldizon/NBAE via Getty Images

The Heat are coming off a historic run to the NBA title, where they defeated the Denver Nuggets in six games. Led by Jimmy Butler, Bam Adebayo, and Tyler Herro, the Heat proved that they are a resilient and versatile team that can overcome any obstacle. They also added some veteran depth in free agency, signing Kyle Lowry, P.J. Tucker, and Markieff Morris.

The Heat have a relatively easy schedule to start the season, as they play 10 of their first 15 games at home. They also have a favorable balance of home and road games throughout the season, as they play 21 of their 41 home games on Fridays, Saturdays, or Sundays. The Heat have some marquee matchups on their schedule, such as their season opener against the Detroit Pistons , their Christmas Day game against the Los Angeles Lakers , and their rematch with the Nuggets on March 5 .

The Heat are one of the favorites to win the Eastern Conference again, as they have a +350 odds at FanDuel . They also have a +900 odds to repeat as NBA champions , which is tied for the fourth-best in the league. We predict that the Heat will finish with a 53-29 record, which should be enough to secure a top-three seed in the East.

Boston Celtics (52-30)

Jayson Tatum and Jaylen BrownAdam Glanzman/Getty Images

The Celtics made some big changes this offseason, trading away Marcus Smart and Robert Williams III for Kristaps Porziņģis and Derrick White. They also hired Ime Udoka as their new head coach, replacing Brad Stevens who moved to the front office. The Celtics are hoping that Porziņģis can stay healthy and form a formidable frontcourt with Jayson Tatum and Jaylen Brown, while White can provide some stability at the point guard position.

The Celtics have a tough schedule to begin the season, as they play nine of their first 13 games on the road. They also have a brutal stretch in January, where they play 11 of 15 games away from home. However, they have a favorable finish to the season, as they play eight of their last 10 games at home. The Celtics have some intriguing games on their schedule, such as their season opener against the New York Knicks , their MLK Day game against the Golden State Warriors , and their showdown with the Heat on April 9 .

The Celtics are one of the contenders in the East, as they have a +600 odds to win the conference at FanDuel . They also have a +1400 odds to win the NBA title , which is tied for the sixth-best in the league. We predict that the Celtics will finish with a 52-30 record, which should be enough to secure a top-four seed in the East.

Atlanta Hawks (43-39)

Dejounte Murray and Trae YoungKevin C. Cox/Getty Images

The Hawks’ net rating was worse with Collins on the floor in each of his last two seasons, and his departure should mean more minutes for up-and-comers Onyeka Okongwu and Jalen Johnson. A more positionless starting forward tandem with De’Andre Hunter and Saddiq Bey should help too.

Last season, the Hawks were a ho-hum plus 1-6 points per 100 possessions when both were on the floor. They’ll have to much more thoroughly dominate those minutes if they’re going to push closer to 50 wins

Chicago Bulls (37-45)

DeMar DeRozan, Zach LaVine and Nikola VučevićChris Schwegler/NBAE via Getty Images

After playing just 35 games in 2021-22 and missing all of 2022-23, it looks like Lonzo Ball is going to miss another entire season dealing with a knee injury.

Last season, they finished 24th in points per 100 possessions and put up an uninspiring 113.4 (which ranked in the 39th percentile) when all three of the above played.

Still, talent is talent. And this roster has some nice gap-filling players like Alex Caruso, Jevon Carter, Andre Drummond and Torrey Craig. The Bulls may not look much better than a fringe play-in team, but they can exceed that over/under.

In-season tournament group play game:

Wed. Oct. 25: at Miami, 7:30 p.m.

Fri. Oct. 27: at Charlotte, 7 p.m.

Sat. Oct. 28: Chicago, 7 p.m.

Mon. Oct. 30: at Oklahoma City, 8 p.m.

Wed. Nov. 1: Portland, 7 p.m.

Thu. Nov. 2: at New Orleans, 8 p.m.

Sun. Nov. 5: Phoenix, 3 p.m.

Mon. Nov. 6: Golden State, 7 p.m.

Wed. Nov. 8: at Milwaukee, 8 p.m.

Fri. Nov. 10: Philadelphia*, 7 p.m.

Sun. Nov. 12: at Chicago, 7 p.m.

Tue. Nov. 14: Atlanta*, 7 p.m.

Fri. Nov. 17: at Cleveland*, 7:30 p.m.

Sun. Nov. 19: at Toronto, 6 p.m.

Mon. Nov. 20: Denver, 7 p.m.

Fri. Nov. 24: at Indiana*, 8 p.m.

Mon. Nov. 27: Washington, 7 p.m.

Wed. Nov. 29: L.A. Lakers, 7 p.m. (NBA TV)

Thu. Nov. 30: at New York, 7:30 p.m.

Sat. Dec. 2: Cleveland, 7 p.m.

Mon. Dec. 11: Indiana, 7 p.m.

Wed. Dec. 13: Philadelphia, 7 p.m.

Fri. Dec. 15: at Philadelphia, 7 p.m.

Sat. Dec. 16: at Milwaukee, 6 p.m.

Mon. Dec. 18: at Atlanta, 7:30 p.m.

Thu. Dec. 21: Utah, 7 p.m. (NBA TV)

Sat. Dec. 23: at Brooklyn, 7:30 p.m.

Tue. Dec. 26: Brooklyn, 7 p.m.

Thu. Dec. 28: at Boston, 7:30 p.m. (NBA TV)

Sat. Dec. 30: Toronto, 6 p.m.

Mon. Jan. 1: at Houston, 8 p.m.

Wed. Jan. 3: at Utah, 9 p.m.

Fri. Jan. 5: at Golden State, 10 p.m.

Sun. Jan. 7: at Denver, 8 p.m.

Tue. Jan. 9: Sacramento, 7 p.m.

Wed. Jan. 10: San Antonio, 7 p.m.

Fri. Jan. 12: Houston, 7:30 p.m. (ESPN)

Mon. Jan. 15: at Washington, 3 p.m.

Wed. Jan. 17: Minnesota, 7 p.m.

Sat. Jan. 20: Milwaukee, 3 p.m.

Mon. Jan. 22: Milwaukee, 7 p.m.

Wed. Jan. 24: Charlotte, 7 p.m.

Sat. Jan. 27: Washington, Noon

Sun. Jan. 28: Oklahoma City, 6 p.m.

Wed. Jan. 31: at Cleveland, 7 p.m.

Fri. Feb. 2: L.A. Clippers, 7 p.m.

Sun. Feb. 4: Orlando, 3 p.m.

Wed. Feb. 7: at Sacramento, 10 p.m.

Thu. Feb. 8: at Portland, 10 p.m.

Sat. Feb. 10: at L.A. Clippers, 3:30 p.m.

Tue. Feb. 13: at L.A. Lakers, 10:30 p.m.

Wed. Feb. 14: at Phoenix, 9 p.m.

Thu. Feb. 22: at Indiana, 7 p.m.

Sat. Feb. 24: Orlando, 8 p.m.

Mon. Feb. 26: New York, 7 p.m.

Tue. Feb. 27: at Chicago, 8 p.m.

Fri. March 1: Cleveland, 7 p.m.

Sun. March 3: at Orlando, 6 p.m.

Tue. March 5: at Miami, 7:30 p.m.

Thu. March 7: Brooklyn, 7 p.m.

Sat. March 9: Dallas, 7 p.m.

Mon. March 11: Charlotte, 7 p.m.

Wed. March 13: Toronto, 7 p.m.

Fri. March 15: Miami, 7 p.m.

Sun. March 17: Miami, 3 p.m.

Mon. March 18: at Boston, 7:30 p.m.

Wed. March 20: Indiana, 7 p.m.

Fri. March 22: Boston, 7 p.m.

Sun. March 24: New Orleans, 3 p.m.

Mon. March 25: at New York, 7:30 p.m.

Wed. March 27: at Minnesota, 8 p.m.

Fri. March 29: at Washington, 7 p.m.

Mon. April 1: Memphis, 7 p.m.

Wed. April 3: at Atlanta, 7:30 p.m.

Fri. April 5: at Memphis, 8 p.m.

Sat. April 6: at Brooklyn, 7 p.m.

Tue. April 9: at Philadelphia, 7 p.m.

Thu. April 11: Chicago, 7 p.m.

Fri. April 12: at Dallas, 8:30 p.m.

Sun. April 14: at San Antonio, 3:30 p.m.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *